Writer of Horror Fiction

Archive for December, 2010

Sonar 4 Landing Dock reviews “Into The Dark”

Another review has been posted on Into the Dark and I have to admit I am pretty pleased by the response of the folks over at Sonar 4 Landing Dock.  My favorite quote from this review has to be this:  “D’Orazio grabs the reader and pulls them into this story with a large violent hook and you’re stuck, but what does happen is you don’t mind being stuck, actually you love it.”

Wow!  That is pretty dang flattering.

Check out the full review here:  http://sonar4landingdockreviews.blogspot.com/2010/12/into-dark-by-patrick-d-orazio-review.html?zx=e2ff0ef7837054b8

and of course, get yourself a copy of Into The Dark and judge for yourself!

Advertisements

Check out my article on Flames Rising’s website about “Comes The Dark”

The folks over at Flames Rising let me take a swipe at talking about Comes The Dark and my writing experiences in general.

For folks not in the know, Flames Rising is an online resource for fans of Horror and Dark Fantasy entertainment. This horror fanzine offers reviews of Games, Fiction, Movies and more ranging from Top-Selling authors to the coolest Small Press and “indie” publishers. The popular Interviews at Flames Rising include Horror authors, artists and other creators of dark entertainment.  So you should be checking them out!

And more to the point, check out my article, here:  http://www.flamesrising.com/comes-the-dark-essay/


Night of the Living Podcast reviews “Comes The Dark”

Hey folks, check out this podcast review of Comes The Dark over at Night of the Living Podcast.  Check out the link here for episode 209:  http://notlp.com/.  The review starts around the 42 minute mark, and they have some fun with it.  These guys are pretty hilarious in general and it was fun hearing them talk about my book and changing marriage vows to insure that if your spouse gets bitten by a zombie that you are willing to put a bullet in their head so they don’t come back.  Now THAT is love!

Give the review a listen and check out NOTLP in general.  They love horror and have a lot of fun with their podcast.  Great stuff.


Review of Eric Shapiro’s “Stories for the End of the World”

Stories for the End of the World is a series of short stories interspersed with three novellas.  Perhaps they are all stories for the end of the world (at least, perhaps, for those in the tales-in one form or fashion), but if you are looking for straight apocalyptic fiction, not every story here qualifies, though a few fit that category.  I had read two of the short stories previously, as they appeared in two separate Undead anthologies put out by Permuted Press.  All the stories here have appeared elsewhere prior to being compiled for this book.  While there are two ‘zombie’ type tales here, there are not walking dead throughout the rest of this book.
The three novellas were all first person tales and each had a very distinct flavor to them.  ‘Days of Allison’ takes us to a future where people can order up robots that are so similar to humans that it is virtually impossible to tell the difference.  The character in the story has a robotic mate ordered up-she is supposed to be docile and in love with him, and she is neither, which makes her both threatening and intriguing to him.  The comment on the cover about Eric Shapiro being the next Philip K. Dick comes from this story.  It certainly is a story that has echoes of Dick’s ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ to it, with Shapiro’s own unique slant.  The second novella, and my favorite story of the book, is ‘It’s Only Temporary,’ which is about knowing that the world will end and spending those last few hours on earth trying to grasp what you should do to live a life full of meaning and experiences.  It was a touching story that had me thinking about it long after I was finished with it.  ‘Strawberry Man’ came from the other end of the spectrum of the world coming from the end.  Instead of a young man pondering on what he hadn’t been able to achieve in life, as was done with ‘It’s Only Temporary’, here there are reflections from an older man on a life full of conquests but dark secrets and horrible regrets.

The majority of these stories are told in first person, with one told in second person, which is always tricky and interesting to read (and it terrifies me-I doubt I will EVER attempt to write a story in second person).  Quite a few of them were entertaining, though the internal dialog in some got a little bit long-winded here and there.  Nothing that was a major gripe, but more along the lines of a pitfall that can occur in what is primarily first person narratives.

Overall, this is a very entertaining compendium of the author’s work.  Some of the author’s stories were very thought provoking and at least some of it had a bizarro taste to it-especially ‘Newborn’, which was pretty surreal.  I am guessing that some folks, looking for pure apocalyptic fiction, may be disappointed with this book, mostly because Shapiro takes his readers in some odd directions with some of his stories.  The diversions are entertaining if you are open to them, and it is without a doubt a book that raised my eyebrow in intrigue more than once as I read it.

You can find Stories for the End of the World at: http://www.amazon.com/Stories-End-World-Eric-Shapiro/dp/1934861308/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1292382578&sr=8-1


Eric S. Brown has a new contest to win one of his books!

Hey folks, just thought I would share something cool with you.  Eric S. Brown, the man behind tons of great zombie books out there is holding a contest in honor of his first release through Simon and Schuster.  It’s a great chance to check out a killer book and win some other really killer books.   Here are the details from the man himself:

Contest rules and prizes: From Eric S Brown

On Dec. 14th, my first ever Simon and Schuster release hits stores everywhere.  All you have to do is take a photo of yourself either buying or have bought War of the Worlds Plus Blood Guts and Zombies in a book store and tag me with it on Facebook anytime from Tuesday Dec. 14th to Friday Dec. 17th.  A random winner who does this will win signed copies of Antiheroes, Martin Kier and the Dead, and Kinberra Down.  For each 100 people who take part, I will be adding prizes.  So tag me on Facebook with a photo of you buying the book and you’re entered to win.

Sounds pretty simple, and a cool way to win some books!


Check out these cool Library of the Living Dead Calendars!

Hey all!  I had to post about the cool calendars that are being sold over at Cafe Press that were put together by some pretty killer artists for The Library of the Living Dead.  There are two different calendars and each contains zombified pictures of various authors whose work appears in either Library anthologies or novels.  Yours truly is in one of the two calendars and I do have to say that both really kick some major butt!

Give them both a looksee if you get the chance, at this link: http://www.cafepress.com/DrPus?CMP=CJ-CLICK-10461796&tid=skim673X607971&sid=skim673X607971&cjpid=3641109&PID=7532081&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=none&utm_source=cj

And then pick up one or both for yourself and get a few for the zombie lover you know and want to pleasantly surprise for Christmas!


Mr. MoOn’s Nightmares Day, ALL DAY!

Ladies and Gents,

Tomorrow, my good friend, Mr. Jonathan MoOn, is running a promotion on his book, Mr. MoOn’s Nightmares.  I reviewed his book here, https://patrickdorazio.com/2010/07/31/review-of-jonathan-moons-mr-moons-nightmares/.

 

Check out the Facebook page for Mr. MoOn’s Nightmares Day, All Day:  http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=170572399623444 and make sure you are attending this event!

And check out his blog to see what goodies he is giving away!  http://bit.ly/dUQ9QW

 

Most importantly, make sure you swing by Amazon and pick up a copy of his book here:  http://www.amazon.com/Mr-Moons-Nightmares-Jonathan-Moon/dp/1451577249/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1287516260&sr=1-1 and then write a review on it after you read it.  I am sure he will be happy you did, and my guess is that you’ll be happy you checked out this terrific book as well!